Like many other states, North Carolina has several laws in place for the purchase and sale of alcohol to people of legal drinking age.
People 21 and over must provide identification when drinking alcohol, but what happens if you’re not the one receiving drinks? Do you have to get a license even if you’re not the one drinking?
Cashiers, bartenders or anyone selling or serving alcohol TO DO have the right to request an identity document other members of a group, but the North Carolina ABC Commission said this is not a requirement.
“It is illegal to sell or serve alcohol to anyone under the age of 21, and verifying their identity is a good practice to protect against this,” said Jeff Strickland, spokesperson for the NC ABC Commission. , at the Charlotte Observer. “If a person sells multiple drinks to a group, they can check the identities of other members to ensure they are not selling or serving alcohol to anyone under 21.”
So even if it’s not legally required, Strickland says companies may have their own policies or practices to verify identity to avoid giving alcohol to minors.
What are the penalties for sales to minors?
In North Carolina, there are severe penalties for violating the state’s alcohol laws. Anyone caught selling or giving alcohol to anyone under the age of 21 would be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, State Law said, but there could also be additional consequences if convicted.
“For the first offense, a person convicted of selling or providing alcohol to a person under the age of 21 must pay a fine of $250 plus $100 in court costs and complete 25 hours of work. general interest”, according to the North Carolina Department of Public Safety.
“A person convicted of aiding and abetting the sale or furnishing of alcohol to a minor must pay a fine of $500 plus court costs and perform 25 hours of community service.”