Buzz Update Falguni Nair won the EY Award for Founders TOU

Buzz Update Falguni Nair won the EY Award for Founders


Falguni Nair won the EY Award for Founders

Falguni Nair, Founder & CEO, Nykaa, has been named EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2021.

Nair will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards (WEOY) on June 9. Minister for Labor & Employment and Environment, Forests & Climate Change Bhupender Yadav was the chief guest at the event.

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year (EOY) Awards is a global business awards program that is celebrated in 60 countries. The event is in its 23rd year in India.

Nair, who turned from an investment banker to an entrepreneur, disrupted the brick and mortar industry by adopting a digital way to sell cosmetics. Her startup, Nykaa, is profitable and has a strong omni-channel presence.

“Over the past two years, she has diversified from beauty to fashion and lifestyle and has a well-established portfolio of 2,600 international brands and 100 offline stores,” EY said.

The company recently raised fresh capital for expansion through an IPO. Nair also received the EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award in the Start-up category in 2019.

“India is moving towards a comprehensive and sustainable economy that firmly believes in enabling and enhancing the potential and potential of our entrepreneurs. This year, 21 finalists at the EOY Awards have won Rs. With a combined revenue of $ 1.87 trillion, employing more than 260,000 people in one go; It is a testament to the country’s founding talent, ”Yadav said in his speech.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Larsen & Toubro Group Chairman AM Nayak was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Naik joined L&T in 1965 and rose through the ranks as Chairman and Managing Director in 2003.

“He has been instrumental in making the engineering services company one of the leading companies in India, expanding in engineering and construction, energy, finance and IT. Attracting Atmanirbhar Bharat, he provided a strong ‘Make in India’ trend for the company’s products and engaged L&T in areas of national importance such as defense, nuclear, energy, aerospace, infrastructure, oil & gas and electricity. EY said.

Awards were also announced for nine other categories, with the winners representing mature industries and young entrepreneurs from start-ups, including Unicorns. The full list is here:

Category winners

Vidith Atre, co-founder & CEO and Sanjeev Burnwall, co-founder & CTO, won in the Fashion Technology (MISHO) Startup category while Abhay Soi, Chairman and Managing Director, Business Transformation won the award in the category of Maximum Healthcare.

The winners in the manufacturing, services, consumer products & retail, life sciences & healthcare and financial services segments were Sunil Vachani, founder and executive chairman of Dixon Technologies; Sahil Barua, co-founder and CEO, Delhi; Shiva Kishan Agarwal, Chairman; And Manohar Lal Agarwal, Chairman and Managing Director, Haldiram Group; Dr. Satyanarayana Chava, Founder and CEO of Larus Labs; And Harshil Mathur, co-founder and CEO; And Shashank Kumar, co-founder and CTO, Razorpe.

The awards in the Technology, Media and Telecom category went to Girish Mathrubhumi, co-founder and CEO of FreshWorks, while Vivek Vikram Singh, Managing Director and Group CEO, Sona Comstar, won in the Founding CEO category.

Rajiv Memani, Chairman and CEO, EY India, said, “The theme of this year’s awards is India’s great resilience to entrepreneurial ingenuity and growth opportunities. Our EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2021 winners should be celebrated for winning against all odds, especially in today’s business environment, which is more dynamic than ever before. Many of the winners are very young and have scaled their companies by adopting innovations, new-age technologies and creating value in a short period of time. I commend each and every one of them for paving the way for other aspiring entrepreneurs and for excelling in their respective fields.

Farooq Balsara, Partner and EOY India Program Leader, said, “Heartfelt congratulations to our 2021 winners who have shown tremendous resilience to unlock new opportunities at uncertain times. Their entrepreneurial mindset, combined with agility and speed, has enabled them to grow their businesses tremendously and build enabled processes, technologies, systems and structures.

A nine-member independent jury headed by former ICICI Bank chairman KV Kamath selected the winners. Other members are Dr. Kiran Majumdar-Shah, Chairperson, Biocon; Vibha Padalkar, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, HDFC Life; Neeraj Bhardwaj, Managing Director, The Carlyle Group; Amit Dixit, Head Asia Private Equity, Blackstone; Rajneesh Kumar, former chairman of State Bank of India; Harsh c. Mariwala, Chairman, Marico; Sanjeev Mehta, CEO and Managing Director, Hindustan Unilever; And Gopal Srinivasan, Founder, Chairman and Managing Director of TVS Capital Funds.

The jury considered the nominee’s entrepreneurial spirit, ability to navigate through Kovid-19, recent financial performance, strategic direction, product or service innovation, leadership and risk-taking capability, including personal integrity, corporate governance and many more. Social and environmental impact. ”

KV Kamath, former Chairman of ICICI Bank and Jury Chair of EOY Awards 2021, said, “Each of the EOY 2021 winners has an amazing story of entrepreneurial talent. They have advanced and developed at breakneck speed, adapting technology and building highly competitive businesses. On behalf of the jury, I congratulate all the 2021 finalists and winners who are making an admirable impact on their respective ecosystems and truly represent the emergence of a new India.


April 13, 2022

if you want to read this article from the original credit source of the article then you can read from here.

Leave a Reply