“Area of ​​Interest,” Emma Stone wins .

Jonathan Glazer’s German-language drama The area of ​​interest won the film of the year award at the 44th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards on Sunday, as well as best director and a technical award. Emma Stone was named actress of the year for her work in Yorgos Lanthimos’ film. Poor things.

In the meantime, All of us strangers Star Andrew Scott won Actor of the Year, with Andrew Haigh’s drama scoring three nominations, as did The area of ​​interest. London critics also named Da’Vine Joy Randolph supporting actress of the year for her role in Leftovers And May DecemberCharles Melton, Supporting Actor of the Year. Stone, Randolph and Melton accepted their awards via video messages.

Other winners on the evening included Paul Mescal, honored as the 2023 Anglo-Irish Lifetime Achievement Performer, and Mia McKenna-Bruce who received the critics group’s inaugural International Breakthrough Prize for How to have sex. Meanwhile, Céline Song Past lives was voted foreign language film of the year, while Hayao Miyazaki’s The boy and the heron won the new animated film award.

Jeffrey Wright and Colman Domingo received special honors at May’s star-studded ceremony
Fair hotel in London. Wright took the stage to accept the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinematography, presented to him by American fiction director Cord Jefferson. And Misan Harriman, nominated for an Oscar this year for his short film Afterpresented the inaugural Derek Malcolm Innovation Award to Domingo, who had received the honor in a small ceremony filmed in London two days earlier.

The London Critics’ Circle Film Awards were voted for by the 210 members of the Critics’ Circle film section.

Read Complete News ➤

Benefits of eating guava for Americans